L4 in Internal Quality Assurance (IQA)

About The Course

This qualification is suitable for you if you wish to obtain the Internal Verifier / Moderator role and quality assure assessors and assessment. The Level 4 Award (previously V1 award) in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) is a 12 credit and 90 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 2 mandatory units.


This qualification is required for:

  • Verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years.
  • Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.
  • Quality assurance staff who deliver QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications.
  • Some staff, who are quality assuring qualifications within the QCF framework that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold this IQA qualification.

This qualification will be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals.

Course Structure
Unit 1: Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment which provides the opportunity to relate underpinning knowledge and understanding to practice of internal quality assurance. Sharing knowledge and experience with peers and colleagues provides an opportunity both to share good practice and to reflect on assessment approaches.

Unit 2: This unit will give you the opportunity to apply the principles and requirements of internal quality assurance to a real working context and identify ways in which to develop and improve your practice.
Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.

Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.
The range of direct evidence MUST include:

  • monitoring of a minimum of TWO assessors
  • assessment of a minimum of TWO candidates per assessor
  • examination of products of work
  • observation of practice
  • questioning

These can be supplemented, where necessary, with professional discussion, reflective accounts or witness statements.


The L4 Award in Internal Quality Assurance (IQA) is accredited by TQUK, who is an Awarding Organisation recognised by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) and the Welsh Government. 

TQUK offers qualifications on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).


Most frequent questions and answers

Access to a PC/Laptop to write and submit assignments using a PDF format.

Zoom App to access tutorial sessions (not mandatory).

We accept PayPal and Bank Transfers. We are able to negotiate payment instalments on an individual basis, we can discuss this when you contact us.

You will have a 7 day grace period on enrollment, once this period is finished any payments made will be non-refundable.




Don't let life pass you by, achieve your goals now.
Contact me today for a non-obligatory chat.

Teaching Today

+44 7469 241 376